Forum Thread: What are you playing May 2011 Edition

Current playing: Tera Online, Minecraft, Kane & Lynch 2

A level 6 warrior so not that many skills! You can also play with the HUD off for some really beautiful game play.

How does it feel to play an MMO in an entirely different language? Well it's not so hard after all. Not really interested in what is currently out there, I started playing the Korean version of Tera Online. The game just launched a few months ago in Korea and will be coming to the rest of the world later this year.

It's surprisingly simple to play, but a little convoluted to get started. First of all it's illegal. You can't just play in a Korean server. They check your IP and you need a verified Korean social security number to get an account. Once you have that then you need to buy a time card and apply it at their Korean website. There is no monthly subscription, you must buy a time card of either 30 hrs a month, 30 days, or 90 days. After this, then you have to navigate their website again to download their updater and install the game. It took a bit, but once it was all done it was worth it.

The game play is fantastic. You can customize your controller in-game to all kinds of configurations and the action is fast and addicting. A few days ago I tried Rift again and couldn't believe just how much better Tera's game play was. It's something you don't notice until you actually go back to a game where you thought it was fine previously.

Getting around isn't hard, quests are of the easy type: Fetch this, kill X of that. Markers tell you where to go and you're off to the next quest. Currently in a clan with other fellow Americans and Europeans, we help each other out when we are stumped. The average level is 30 and the clan leader has already reached the level cap. I think the fact that we all need so much help here and there has made the clan stick together more than if it was in a regular environment.

5 Responses